Newport Ave

kenkuhlken-300dpi-3125x4167Newport Ave by Clifford Hickey

Noir crime, Mystery, Suspense

A fugitive from a manslaughter charge returns home to a foggy California beach town hoping to protect his sister Olivia from her estranged husband, a mob-connected gambler. He enlists the help of his closest old friend, now a devoted Christian family man and Sunday school teacher. After exploring all options, they decide the only sure way to protect Olivia is to kill the gambler. Newport Ave, a gripping novel in the noir tradition, explores crime and its endless consequences.

Read about Newport Avenue in Ocean Beach, California; Indian casinos, bookies and the Mafia; surfing,  the trials of an expatriate;  tuna fishermen; and a lovable Christian drug abuser with hepatitis C.

Praise for Newport Ave and its author:  

Newport Ave is a water-tight thriller and an elegy to friendship. It possesses the qualities of Dennis Lehane’s best non-series books — the same sense of long-seasoned relationships, unrealized expectations, and even a kind of grace. I finished it just two days ago and could start it again right now.” — Timothy Hallinan, author of the Poke Rafferty Bangkok thrillers and the Junior Bender Mysteries

“Clifford Hickey, a fascinating character in the Hickey family crime books, has become a master storyteller. His first novel, Newport Ave, is riveting classic noir, teeming with suspense arising from questions we all face: how loyal are we; how willing to sacrifice; how deep is our love.  Beautifully written and intriguing at every turn, this novel will linger in your mind and heart.  A winner!” — Gayle Lynds New York Times bestselling author of The Assassins and The Book of Spies

BISAC: FIC050000 /FICTION /crime; FIC062000/FICTION/noir; FIC026000/FICTION/religious

ISBN: 978-0-9965242-5-4 ebook

Fans of Ken Nunn, Patricia Highsmith, or James M. Cain must read Newport Ave.Available as an ebook at: Smashwords, Amazon, Ibooks and other online outlets.